Skip to content

1. Second-time Playwright: First Reading

March 21, 2011

I am fortunate to have had a second play accepted for the Fringe of Marin one-act play festival for the spring 2011 season. Perhaps even more fortunate that some one else will be directing this time out, and that the director is Steve North.

Stage directing, even a one-act play on a small informal stage like that of Meadowlands at Dominican University, as a skill that has to be learned over time. Even then not all aspirants acquire it. But Steve has. I could see that right away at the first table-reading.
“Candle, Rose” brings two familiar types—man, woman, both middle aged and damaged by events in their ordinary lives, meet as strangers in a bar.

Heard that one before? I thought there was a story here when I wrote it down, and evidently I have three actors and a directory who saw it in the words of the script, and seem to agree. The table-reading proved it. The moment I heard my words spoken by others, I knew we were all on to something that had taken flight, and was no longer confined to the silence between my own ears. Everyone already knew what it was that needed to be said, and how to say it.

By evening’s end Steve summed it up: “I can’t tell you how excited I am to see this coming together like this.” I could only agree.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

