Skip to content

Sailor on Ice: First Print Run

June 2, 2011

A few years have passed since I first noticed that Tom Crean of all the explorers fought his way out of more deadly dangerous places than any other man. References to him by name were few in the published literature of Antarctic exploration, just enough to place him in the center of all sorts of hair-raising adventures. Hmmm, I said to myself, no one’s written a book about him. So I should. That was in October 1995. I thought at the time, with a little effort I could have a book out by 2001, the centiennial year of the launch of the Discovery.

It took me two years to write a four-page introduction. Progress. But not much. I made a brief contact with Crean’s grandson, then lost contact. More time passed. The next anniversary would be 2010, the hundredth anniversary of the departure of the Terra Nova, came and went without publication, though not without effort.

In a few weeks it will be one hundred years since the fabulous Midwinter’s Day celebration in Scott’s second expedition hut at Cape Evans.

It appears that I’ve made a deadline at last. It’s been fifteen years in the making, but the book’s here—a whole case of ‘em now on the floor in the back office. The launch is set for 6/12.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Brians Miles permalink
    June 3, 2011 7:20 am

    Congrats Dave!!!! Cannot wait to read! Save me a copy pretty please.:). Hugs, Lisa

  2. June 3, 2011 6:18 pm

    I’ve seen the book. Beautifully finished and the story, truly spectacular. Buy two, one to give to your favorite person.

  3. Karen permalink
    June 5, 2011 12:28 pm

    Congratulations on your accomplishment! Enjoy the moment fully. How do I purchase copies?

Leave a Reply

