Skip to content

Book in Print

June 14, 2011

I must say, it’s immensely satisfying to see “Sailor on Ice” on the printed page, in a volume that can be held in the hand, and pages ready to be dog-eared.

Now I have one of my own on the shelf beside all the other “blue books.” They’re blue from the colors of their covers, almost universally chosen by the publishers of polar histories. It makes sense: blue represents cold, intense cold; seawater; the color of isolation.

Also satisfying: sales of the first edition, in person and online. Not that this “polar biography,” this “nonfiction narrative” was ever about selling. It was always about writing, about telling the best story, in the best way I know how.

The book has recieved this advance praise from Dr. Robert Swan, whose 1984 expedition “In the Footsteps of Scott” was the first to repeat Crean’s lonely journey after an interval of 73 years.

–“I DO BELIEVE that you must have been part of those days in some way. . .You have caught it with a passion and detail often the two do not make easy bedfellows. . . . I cannot expres my regards for you more highly.”–

The official launch will be at Florey’s Books (2120 Palmetto Ave., Pacifica) Sunday June 26 at 4:00 p.m. For more information about the book and Florey’s, check the link below:

http://www.floreysbooks.blogspot.com/

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 3:57 pm

    Dear friend, David: Having heard all about Tom Crean & his fantastic journeys, in the comfort of my living room in Pacifica, ’cause I have the great good luck of your being part of my ongoing Writers Group, I now look forward to admiring the final product, the Sailor on Ice.

Leave a comment