Skip to content

Words and Truth

August 8, 2011

“Truth has nothing to do with words.

“Truth can be likened to the bright moon in the sky. Words, in this case, can be likened to a finger. The finger can point to the moon’s location. However, the finger is not the moon.

“To look at the moon, it is necessary to gaze beyond the finger, right?”
____________________

(Wisdom from Ho-tei, a monk who lived during the Later Liang Dynasty (907–923 AD) of China.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 11:43 am

    Thnks 4 sharing wise words.
    Meantime, gd news: My short fiction, OPEN LETTER to JULIA, has been accepted, & will b on Internet in a few days. Now––’cause U r such nice person––U get an advance:

    OPEN LETTER to JULIA words: 270

    Fading from life, my first cousin. In my mind I hold on
    to you. As you were at twenty-four to my childhood years.
    Your lovely frame, six feet, size seven. Blonde, peaches
    and cream. Could have been international model of the
    year. And I looked up to you. Your smile, your figure,
    your tailored dark suit with the café con leche silk shirt,
    and your hands, soft, almost a transparent white, with
    long artistic fingers, a couple of doves, folded on your lap,

    It’s difficult for me to see how you sound, look today.
    ‘Cause it’s your spirit I feel fading. And your letter:
    Imagine me a high executive woman always served by
    cook, maid, chauffer. Me, since the ttake over, reduced
    to housekeeper. To fill up my time, I make two daily trips
    to the market instead of one. I make two. I do it on purpose,
    you say. And I know you don’t even like those chores.
    But today is all you have to keep you occupied.

    And I worry knowing your idea of health care is being a
    casual vegetarian. And have allowed yourself to become
    obese. And the disappointments, nephew Andres not the
    executive-married-with-children you always dreamed of.
    And you and Hernan, your brother, spend evenings watching
    television thankful for each other’s company. I worry.

    And that other image keeps coming to the front, you at twenty-
    four. And I realize it’s life cycle coming full circle. A reminder
    of what is to come. Something to reckon with. But my pain is
    deep for I always expected you to be there. Your twenty-four
    to my childhood years.*

    Camincha is from Miraflores,Lima,Perú. Earned her MA in Spanish Literature at San Francisco State University.

Leave a Reply

